Lockdown (Mix)

Lockdown (photo: AFP/STR)

I’m VERY proud that this mix is ‘premiered’ on Dave Michuda’s great Low Light Mixes blog.
He also wrote this nice introduction to this mix, which I just copy here:

I like to think that I put a lot of thought and effort into these mixes. Hopefully, the mix as a whole is greater than the sum of its parts. But what I do is nothing compared to the transformative touch that Peter Van Cooten brings to his mixes.
Each mix is a unique work of art. Peter rarely lets a track play in its complete form. Instead, he uses smaller samples and deftly weaves the tracks in and out of each other. Sometimes 2,3, or 4 tracks play simultaneously, creating something new from different elements. In this mix, he uses an incredible 41 tracks! Here’s what Peter has to say about using so many short samples:

“Sometimes I feel a bit embarrassed about using such short samples and/or editing the tracks (of these 41, only 8 are used in their complete form). It’s a bit like cutting up the Mona Lisa to create a landscape patchwork with the fragments ;-). 
But on the other hand, this is what I feel makes these mixes unique. Taken out of their context and in relation to other fragments, the music sometimes tells a different story.”

This mix is a bit darker than most of my (= Dave Michuda’s, PvC) mixes. But it’s dark in an interesting way, not in a droney, dissonant way. The mix has a very cinematic feel and combined with the cover art and title I can imagine drone shots of empty streets and newspapers blowing across the square.
Peter was hesitant about the name and the cover art. He says:

“It may be too closely linked to the current worldwide crisis, but on the other hand I have tried to think of another name or context but the uncertain times seem to be too dominant to think of another name I could give it. The funny thing is, that if you listen back most of my mixes have a rather dark edge to them. There’s always a lot of ‘tension/release’. But in this case, it seems there’s a bit more ‘tension’ than ‘release’. 
Oh well, sign of the times…”

Cheers, and stay safe.

Dave Michuda, Low Light Mixes (blog), or Low Light Mixes (Mixcloud)

Lockdown was also broadcast in Bob Rusche’s ‘X-Ray’ on Concertzender Nederland on April, 19

Lockdown - Sequence

Start time Sample length Artist – Title
Album Title, Year, Label

  • 00:00 03:23 Fovea Hex – Is
    Is Lanza Light & Given (Steven Wilson Remixes), 2019, Die Stadt/Janet Records
  • 01:25 04:35 Maggi Payne – Fluid Dynamics
    Arctic Winds, 2020, Aguirre Records
  • 02:03 01:45 Pat Keista – Doppler
    Still Of The Void, 2020, self-released
  • 04:17 01:47 Dave Phillips – Phytognosophysiology
    Post Homo Sapiens, 2020, Attenuation Circuit
  • 05:10 02:45 Jóhann Jóhannsson & Yair Elazar Glotman – Prelude
    Last And First Men, 2020, Deutsche Grammophon
  • 05:42 02:00 Andrew Pekler – Fonseca Winds (Lament)
    Sounds From Phantom Islands, 2019, Faitiche
  • 07:29 01:19 Jóhann Jóhannsson & Yair Elazar Glotman – Telepathic Unity
    Last And First Men, 2020, Deutsche Grammophon
  • 08:13 03:10 Ben Bertrand – Those Behind Us That We Follow
    Manes, 2020, Les Albums Claus
  • 11:08 01:31 Fani Konstantinidou – (Variations)
    Moving Music: Sounds From The Rocking Chair, 2020, Moving Furniture Records,
  • 11:58 01:32 Aaron Martin – Overcoming Inertia
    Test Subjects, 2019, self released
  • 12:53 01:51 A Journey Of Giraffes – Gone Is The New Fuji
    Kona, 2019, Somewherecold records
  • 13:29 03:30 Robert Haigh – Ghosts Of Blacker Dyke
    Black Sarabande, 2020, Unseen Worlds
  • 16:46 02:48 Snorri Hallgrímsson – Fear
    Chasing The Present, 2020, Moderna Records
  • 16:53 00:30 Mica Levi – Mensajero
    Monos, 2019, Invada
  • 17:40 02:30 Snorri Hallgrímsson – Suffering
    Chasing The Present, 2020, Moderna Records
  • 19:22 01:58 Bersarin Quartett – Prolog
    Methoden Und Maschinen, 2019, Denovali
  • 20:41 01:09 Ruairi O’Baoighill – Scryer
    To See Without Eyes, 2018, Cursed Monk Records
  • 20:50 01:59 I Wound – The Choir Of The Drowned Sings ‘Our Demons Are Real’
    Homework Year 3, 2018, Taâlem
  • 21:48 03:01 Christine Ott – Comma
    Chimères (Pour Ondes Martenots), 2020, Nahal Recordings
  • 24:22 02:34 Ida Toninato – Pour Retourner Au Silence
    We Become Giants, 2020, Dragon’s Eye Recordings
  • 25:32 03:47 Merrin Karras – Drawn, Quartered
    Northwest Passage, 2020, A Strangely Isolated Place
  • 28:27 02:07 Ciro Berenguer – Luna Creciente
    Eilean 100, 2019, Eilean Records
  • 29:57 01:47 Yiorgis Sakellariou – B4
    Diapsalmata: A Collection Of Short Works, 2018, Tanuki Records
  • 29:57 01:19 Celer – Birds Inside The High Halls Of Hangzhou (06.23.17)
    Xièxie, 2019, Two Acorns
  • 30:12 03:18 Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Akritchalerm Kalayanamitr, Koichi Shimizu – Sharjah And Java
    Metaphors – Selected Soundworks from the cinema of Apichatpong Weerasethakul, 2017, Sub Rosa
  • 31:24 00:44 Coil – Corybantic Ennui
    Stolen & Contaminated Songs, 2019, Cold Spring Records
  • 32:32 01:22 Olivier Messiaen – Quator Pour Le Fin Du Temps III: Abîme des Oiseaux
    Olivier Messiaen – Complete Edition, 2008, Deutsche Grammophon
  • 33:54 01:26 Hildur Gudnadottir – Following Sophie
    Joker OST, 2019, Watertower Records
  • 35:14 00:55 Ryuichi Sakamoto – Countdown
    Black Mirror: Smithereens, 2019, Milan
  • 35:45 03:24 Silent Chaos – Nocturne On Ganymede
    Macro, 2020, We Don’t Give A Fuck
  • 38:52 04:03 Roger Eno & Brian Eno – Burnt Umber
    Mixing Colours, 2020, Deutsche Grammophon
  • 42:38 02:13 Martina Bertoni – Invisible Cracks
    All The Ghosts Are Gone, 2020, Falk
  • 44:29 03:30 Eivind Aarset & Jan Bang – Nightspell
    Snow Catches On Her Eyelashes, 2020, Jazzland Recordings
  • 46:21 02:13 Jana Irmert – Fog
    Cusp, 2020, self-released
  • 47:40 01:36 Fovea Hex – Given
    Is Lanza Light & Given (Steven Wilson Remixes), 2019, Die Stadt/Janet Records
  • 48:42 02:40 Frank Makowski – Fliegende Schatten – Canon 1
    Canon der Finsternisse, 2019, Diffusschall
  • 49:05 01:12 Michael Begg – Plain Chant
    Sonambulo, 2019, Omnempathy
  • 50:40 02:20 A Winged Victory For The Sullen – The Slow Descent Has Begun
    The Undivided Five, 2019, Ninja Tune
  • 52:35 04:30 Felix Blume – Horns In Fog Pt. 2
    Fog Horns, 2019, Discrepant
  • 55:49 03:02 Max Richter – Ursa Minor – Visions
    Ad Astra, 2019, Deutsche Grammophon
  • 58:30 00:40 Jóhann Jóhannsson & Yair Elazar Glotman – The Sun
    Last And First Men, 2020, Deutsche Grammophon
  • 59:10 End
Download Lockdown now 136Mb (59:10 min.)


[Alternative download from Archive.org]
[Surround-version (DTS.wav or *.wma) here]
Play Ambientblog Mixes on Spotify

add to iTunes

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  1. Gian Grinfan (via Mixcloud)

    This is beautiful; the sonority, the depth of the music, the story being told. I know how difficult it is to make these mixes, for all the attempts I’ve made. Congratulations

  2. Jp Boudreau (via Mixcloud)

    Wonderful mix…so apropos to our common dilema in the age of Corona. Apart from the incredible mix, what about the cover art? Where is this photo from? So post-apocalyptic!

    1. Thanks. About the image: this is an (uncredited) press photo (AFP/STR) that was widespread around the internet. I can safely say that this photo helped inspire the mix; I tried, but could not find a more fitting image to this mix than this particular one. Post-apocalyptic indeed!

  3. Anthony Cooley

    Long time reader, just wanted to say I really enjoyed your latest lockdown mix. I Was sitting at home doing the work from home thing and found it really enjoyable.