Multicast Dynamics; Tobias Freund & Valentina Berthelon; Mario Gronnert; Richard Eigner

Edgar Varèse defined music as ‘organized sound’…

This shortlist presents some fine examples of ‘organized sound’: the final chapter of Multicast Dynamics’ four-part series, audio/visual experiments from Tobias Freund & Valentina Berthelon, urban dreamscapes from Mario Gronnert and CommonSen5E, and, to conclude, a work by Richard Eigner that may best demonstrate why Varèse’s definition is a good one.

FrostbYte (Daniel Blinkhorn) – One Dog Night

Discover hitherto unknown sonic regions of Svalbard (Spitsbergen) with the acousmatic compositions from Daniel Blinkhorn, a.k.a. FrostBYte
Available in Stereo as well as in stunning full surround versions.

The title ‘One Dog Night’, refers to ‘an adage once used to describe how cold the temperature could drop at night. If it was a particularly cold night, it may have been appropriate to have one, two, even three of your dogs on the bed with you to help keep you warm as you slept!’

Multicast Dynamics – Scape, Aquatic System

Multicast Dynamics‘s Scape and Aquatic System are the first half of a quadrilogy that will be completed with another two albums later.
The album series move from an evolutionary to a cosmological scale: starting from dry land filled with light and streams, to the constantly changing surface of the oceans, into a frozen and murky underwater world, finally up to the arrival in an interstellar space and the cosmos.

This first half of the full project set a high bar for the remaining two releases of the series, but I am really very confident that this set will become a landmark in conceptual environmental ambient music.

John Kannenberg – Cordolium

“Cordolium” – literally: ‘Heartfelt grief’: from cor (“heart”) + dolor (“pain, sorrow”) – is a (digital download only) album presenting seven “Laments for the heart in flux”.

The basic material comes from field-recordings from all over the world but they are edited and processed in such a way that the track become true compositions:
“Audio poems of love, loss, longing and heartache in all its forms”.

DreamScenes 2015-02

The february edition of DreamScenes, with some great tracks from new and forthcoming releases.
This editions presents new music from Monty Adkins, Loscil, Sonmi451, Hessien, K. Novotny, Sonae, Ricardo Donoso, Eric Holm, Sankt Otten, Second Moon of Winter, Lost Trail and Alio Die & Lorenzo Montanà.

Janek Schaefer – Unfolding Luxury / Inner Space Memorial

In two separate vinyl album releases (also available as digital downloads), the Dekorder label presents a beautiful overview of the work of Janek Schaefer, presenting new pieces in some cases created by collating existing material.

“Unfolding Luxury beyond the City of Dreams”, the first album of the pair, contains seven relatively short pieces (ranging from 3 to 8 minutes). Within the calm atmosphere of these pieces, there are many fascinating sounds to discover.

The title of the second album, “Inner Space Memorial in Wonderland”, is a combination of the titles of the two pieces included, each taking up a full side of the album with about 20 minutes.

Monolyth & Cobalt; Vitiello + Roden; Gateless Gate; How Hot is Your Cloud; Black to Comm
– shortlist –

Another shortlist for the last days of this year: beautiful soundscapes from Monolyth & Cobalt (Mathias van Eecloo, including reworks by many of his friends), Steve Roden & Stephen Vitiello, Gateless Gate (exploring the vast Siberian Landscape), How Hot is Your Cloud, and the surrealist music of Black to Comm.

Matthew Collings – Silence is a Rhythm Too

Matthew Collings (Scotland) has not only recorded and performed as a solo artist, but also worked together with Dag Rosenqvist (Jasper TX), Talvihorros and Ben Frost.
He has been performing live using custom-made software, and composed movie scores – such as a live score for “Man with a Movie Camera”.

Silence is a Rhythm Too is his second solo-album, and it turns out to be quite different from its more ‘minimalist pop’ orientated predecessorSplintered Instruments(which is rereleased together with the new album).